A year in the life of a blogging perchcrow

19 Apr

Alistair & FletchI can’t believe how quickly the time has passed – and how many new friends I’ve made – since becoming the world’s first blogging perchcrow.

It’s a year this week since I embarked on my new literary career, inspired – of course – by my famous predecessors William and Dorothy Wordsworth, who were born in this house more than 240 years ago and spent their formative years playing in the garden I now look after.

Alistair Starling, the general manager of the National Trust’s North Lakes area, was so impressed by my grasp of technology and my communication skills that he made a special visit the other day to congratulate me. That’s us together in the picture at the top.

Being a perchcrow of simple habits (and little geographical knowledge) I was astounded when Head Gardener Amanda told me that I have readers in 56 countries – many that I hadn’t even heard of. It seems that, thanks to modern technology, the world is a much smaller place than it once was.

I suspect that Dorothy, as a committed diarist, would have taken to blogging like a duck to water if it had been around in her day.

As a retrospective of the past year – and my earlier life, before I became a global media figure – I’d like to share a few picture from my personal archive…

Fletch at 2 days old, June 2004

June 2004: Spot me in the background, at just two days old. That’s Amanda in the natty striped trousers, by the way

 2007: A younger, slimmer me

September 2007: A younger, slimmer me

April 2009: Slightly chubbier

April 2009: Slightly chubbier and working the monochrome look

November 2009: Almost a goner - but rescued in the nick of time from the great Cockermouth flood

November 2009: Almost a goner – but rescued in the nick of time from the great Cockermouth flood

A hug from Amanda

March 2013: A hug from my best friend, Head Gardener Amanda

3 Responses to “A year in the life of a blogging perchcrow”

  1. Bill Paul April 21, 2013 at 12:19 pm #

    You’ve been on the property now for nearly 9 years, and must know as much about it as any of the staff. Is there any truth in the rumour going around at the moment that you have put your name forward to be included in the rota for ‘Duty Manager’? You would have my support!

  2. Fletch the perchcrow April 22, 2013 at 8:50 am #

    I’d make an absolutely excellent duty manager, but everyone would have to come to me, as I’m not as mobile as I was in my youth.

    • Bill Paul April 22, 2013 at 9:09 am #

      You and me both, Fletch!

Leave a Reply

