A host of golden daffodils…

11 Mar

DaffodilsSpring has definitely arrived in my lovely garden. The sun is out and so are the first of the daffodils. These early arrivals are Lent Lily, the variety that Wordsworth admired in the woods beyond Gowbarrow Park, at Ullswater, which inspired his famous poem.

The fine weather has also brought the garden volunteers out in force. They’ve been mulching the hen enclosure ready for the return of my feathered friends, brushing down the yard, and giving the garden a through spring clean.

Alison and Jean hard at work

I will leave you for today with an extract from that wonderful poem…

I wandered lonely as a cloud

That floats on high o’er vales and hills,

When all at once I saw a crowd,

A host, of golden daffodils;

Beside the lake, beneath the trees,

Fluttering and dancing in the breeze.

2 Responses to “A host of golden daffodils…”

  1. Bill Paul March 11, 2013 at 11:45 am #

    It reminds me of that other famous poem about Spring, written by Clarence Perchcrow Shortfellow, who I believe is a relative of yours. It goes

    I wish I was a fairy playing in the grass,
    I’d climb up all the tall, tall trees,
    And slide down on my hands and knees!

    They don’t write stuff like that these days!

    • Fletch the perchcrow March 11, 2013 at 2:47 pm #

      Thank goodness they don’t! I think Clarence was a distant cousin, several times removed.

Leave a Reply

