Dunstanburgh in all its glory

13 Feb

I know I keep saying how talented all our wonderful volunteers are here at Wordsworth House and Garden. But it’s true – and here’s another great example.

Room volunteer and gifted harpsichord player Bill Paul has had one of his photographs shortlisted in a national competition celebrating our special places.

My close friends gardener Amanda and costumed servants’ supremo Alex have already voted, as they have both visited Dunstanburgh and love the place.

If you’d like to see the other entries – and maybe cast a vote yourself, log on to our volunteering website and create a profile (it only takes a few seconds).

Northumbria 2012 016a-BillPaul

Bill says: “I was born in the north, and have always loved the north-east coast.

“Historic castles are a special favourite of mine, and Dunstanburgh is an excellent example. We see them now as ruins, but I like to imagine them bustling with military might in their heyday and full of activity.

“I hope this photograph emphasises the dominance of the setting. The evening light and the sepia tone gives a feeling of timelessness.”

3 Responses to “Dunstanburgh in all its glory”

  1. Bill Paul March 4, 2013 at 11:57 pm #

    I was informed this morning by Kellie Scott that this photo has won third prize. This is more than I could have imagined when I entered it – I was amazed even to be shortlisted!

    • Fletch the perchcrow March 5, 2013 at 9:26 am #

      Many congratulations, Bill, from me and everyone else at Wordsworth House and Garden – very well deserved!

      • Bill Paul March 5, 2013 at 9:51 am #

        Thanks Fletch! See you Saturday!

Leave a Reply

