We’re gorgeous Georgians

19 May
My friend Sophia, aka "the maid-of-all-work"

My friend Sophia, aka “the maid-of-all-work”

… though I say it myself. I thought I had clothing issues (see May 3) until my splendidly dressed friend Sophia told me how long it takes her to get into her outfit each morning. As one of Wordsworth House’s costumed servants, she wears a full set of laced stays and a dress with more hooks and eyes and ribbon ties than a scarecrow could hope to count.

The servants pop by to say “hi” every day when they’re out collecting herbs and other produce to use in our working Georgian kitchen. They chat to visitors while they cook – and are always thrilled when anyone offers to lend a hand, as it cuts down on their duties!

The finished dishes make a wonderful display in the dining room. I’d love to get in to see for myself and experience the hustle and bustle of the house, but my duties in the garden are non stop.

Leave a Reply

