Am I the world’s first blogging perchcrow?

11 Apr
Fletch with Bubble and Squeak

Enjoying some spring sunshine with my friends, Bubble and Squeak

Hello world! I’m the perchcrow at the National Trust’s Wordsworth House and Garden – birthplace of romantic poet William Wordsworth – in the gem town of Cockermouth in the English Lake District.

Gardener Amanda and her volunteers, who made me, call me a perchcrow because I’m no good at scaring anything. Apart from Amanda and the vols, I have two good friends, who are mice called Bubble and Squeak – Bubble lives in my straw hat and Squeak likes the view from my pocket.

I’m planning to blog about my life here in the garden with Amanda and the team. I hope you’ll enjoy reading what I write!

Fletch x

5 Responses to “Am I the world’s first blogging perchcrow?”

  1. Wendy May 3, 2012 at 4:49 pm #

    Hi Fletch, I want a hat like yours. Did Amanda make it for you? By the way – much kinder to be a perchcrow than a scarecrow.

  2. Fletch the perchcrow May 3, 2012 at 5:50 pm #

    Hello, Wendy! It’s a great hat, isn’t it! It was a present from Amanda. Good to have you as a follower!

  3. Penny Cunningham July 29, 2012 at 3:05 pm #

    Hello Fletch, We came to see you in June, when we visited the house. You looked very dapper I must say! And were doing a grand job of keeping unwanted things from the garden. Keep up the excellent work!!

    • Fletch the perchcrow July 30, 2012 at 9:55 am #

      Hello Penny, Lovely to hear from you! Hope to see you again before too long. Fletch x

      • Penny Cunningham July 30, 2012 at 10:53 am #

        I certainly hope so, such a lovely place. I hope the garden is still doing well in spite of the rain.

Leave a Reply

